I did think about calling this post the evil of wheat maltodextrin. It was close as that is how I feel at times, especially when I’ve got the runs from something that contains this as a cheap substitute for sugar.
Here’s what Wikipedia says about it’s production.
Maltodextrin is enzymatically derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually corn; in Europe, it is commonly wheat. This is important for coeliacs, since the wheat-derived maltodextrin can contain traces of gluten. There have been recent reports of coeliac reaction to maltodextrin in the United States. This might be a consequence of the shift of corn to ethanol production and its replacement with wheat in the formulation.
Other authorities on gluten maintain the source does not matter because maltodextrin is such a highly processed ingredient that the protein is removed, rendering it gluten free. If wheat is used to make maltodextrin, it will appear on the label. Even so, the maltodextrin will be gluten free.
The nutritional supplement industry and the food industry frequently make claims concerning ingredients derived from common allergens (such as soy,corn and sometimes wheat, which are ubiquitous) stating that the substance in question is so highly and completely processed that none of the original material remains, however, when tested in human blood of allergic individuals these substances do elicit reactions.
As do many coeliacs, even the traces of gluten in this sugar substitute are enough to upset me, so what are the EU doing. They are making wheat maltodextrin exempt from the allergy rules on gluten.
Who dreamed that one up?
I should think it was probably due to pressure from food manufacturers as it is cheaper than sugar.
But then sugar is considered evil as it makes you fat. So does wheat maltodextrin!
I generally only eat proper demerara sugar, as I have a lovely friend who was born there!