The Anonymous Widower

Jamie Oliver’s Fish Pie

I like this recipe as except for the potato saucepan, there isn’t too much washing up and most of the preparation is done in the dish you cook it in. It’s also very gluten-free without any dodgy ingredient at all.

Here’s what Jamie says about it.

This is a fantastically simple fish pie which doesn’t involve poaching the fish or making a tedious white sauce. Loads of good, fragrant veg are added quickly by grating them in. You can use whatever fish you like, making this as luxurious as you want it to be. If you like your fish pie to be creamy, feel free to add a few tablespoons of crème fraîche to the fish.

For four people and a typical deep dish you’ll get in somewhere like Debenhams, you’ll need the following.

  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1kg potatoes
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 sticks of celery
  • 150g good Cheddar cheese
  • 1 lemon
  • ½ a fresh red chilli
  • 4 sprigs of fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 300g salmon fillets, skin off and bones removed
  • 300g undyed smoked haddock fillets, skin off and bones removed
  • 125g king prawns, raw, peeled
  • Olive oil
  • Optional: a good handful of spinach, chopped
  • Optional: a couple of ripe tomatoes, quartered

Note that Waitrose will take the skin of the fish.  I suspect other places and of course real fishmongers will too.

This is the method.

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C/400°F/gas 6 and bring a large pan of salted water to the boil
  2. Peel the potatoes and cut into 2cm chunks
  3. Once the water is boiling, add your potatoes and cook for around 12 minutes, until soft (you can stick your knife into them to check)
  4. Meanwhile, get yourself a deep baking tray or earthenware dish and stand a box grater in it
  5. Peel the carrot
  6. Grate the celery, carrot and Cheddar on the coarse side of the grater
  7. Use the fine side of the grater to grate the zest from the lemon
  8. Finely grate or chop your chilli
  9. Finely chop the parsley leaves and stalks and add these to the tray
  10. Cut the salmon and smoked haddock into bite-size chunks and add to the tray with the prawns
  11. Squeeze over the juice from the zested lemon (no pips please!), drizzle with olive oil and add a good pinch of salt and pepper
  12. If you want to add any spinach or tomatoes, do it now
  13. Mix everything together really well
  14. By now your potatoes should be cooked, so drain them in a colander and return them to the pan
  15. Drizzle with a couple of good lugs of olive oil and add a pinch of salt and pepper
  16. Mash until nice and smooth, then spread evenly over the top of the fish and grated veg
  17. Place in the preheated oven for around 40 minutes, or until cooked through, crispy and golden on top

Serve piping hot with tomato ketchup, baked beans, steamed veg or a lovely green salad.

I would just point this recipe to Jamie’s site, but I like to print out the recipes as I have a bad memory.  And it doesn’t print from his site on my machine.

August 10, 2009 - Posted by | Food | , , ,

16 Comments

  1. […] describe this as a go0d exercise for someone who has had a stroke. But I’m making one of Jamie Olivers’s fish pies and that needs a kilogram of potatoes to be […]

    Pingback by Peeling Potatoes « The Anonymous Widower | July 5, 2010

  2. […] One-Handed Fish Pie When I Cooked my last Jamie Oliver’s Fish Pie, I hadn’t had a stroke and had full use of both hands.  Now my left hand has a lack of […]

    Pingback by A One-Handed Fish Pie « The Anonymous Widower | July 5, 2010

  3. […] have a large box-grater, which has a big handle on the top.  I use this to make my fish pies, just as Jamie said in the original […]

    Pingback by Cooking Like An Engineer « The Anonymous Widower | July 26, 2010

  4. […] when it comes to cooking one of my fish pies, they seem very little different than before, except that I do have problems mashing the potatoes, […]

    Pingback by Is it Me or My Cooking Skills? « The Anonymous Widower | December 5, 2010

  5. Tried your recipe yesterday. Worked well and definitely easier than most as avoids white sauce and fish poaching as you said.Also added some spinach which enhanced. However,fish was a bit dry. I am not sure whether this was because we were using frozen cod( defrosted in microwave before adding to dish. Will try again with fresh fish next time.

    Comment by Jim S | December 7, 2010

  6. I made one a week ago with the dregs of the fish in the freezer. The prawns weren’t good, so I did use fresh ones. However what freshened the fish up was the creme fraiche and I’ll always use it in future.

    Comment by AnonW | December 7, 2010

  7. […] Cooking is Easy I finally cooked something properly last night.  It was one of my version of Jamie Oliver’s fish pie. […]

    Pingback by Cooking is Easy « The Anonymous Widower | December 20, 2010

  8. […] that it can cook things that just need the electric oven or just one pot on a gas. so I can cook my fish pies or Moroccan Chicken […]

    Pingback by Why Does Anybody Buy a Gas Cooker? « The Anonymous Widower | February 19, 2012

  9. […] like a fish pie and use a recipe from Jamie Oliver to cook a big one for a […]

    Pingback by One For The Freezer « The Anonymous Widower | August 14, 2012

  10. Wow, marvelous weblog format! How lengthy have
    you ever been blogging for? you make blogging look
    easy. The full look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content material!

    Comment by Fernie.bclibrary.ca | April 15, 2013

  11. […] As I hadn’t cooked pone for some time, I decided to cook one of my version of Jamie’s Oliver’s Fish Pie. […]

    Pingback by It Was Fish Pie Tonight « The Anonymous Widower | May 2, 2013

  12. […] regularly do Jamie Oliver’s fish pie and thought it was about time I found another. Especially, as I wanted one that was more in tune […]

    Pingback by Fish Pie With Swede And Potato Topping « The Anonymous Widower | May 25, 2013

  13. […] one for the freezer basis. My only problem is to decide on the flavour to make. Should it be fish, fish, shepherd’s or sausage? Or perhaps a new […]

    Pingback by A Day Not To Be Alone « The Anonymous Widower | June 1, 2013

  14. […] Jamie Oliver’s Fish Pie […]

    Pingback by A List Of Gluten-Free Recipes « The Anonymous Widower | July 28, 2013

  15. […] spotted this, as I’m going to cook my favourite fish pie tonight, whilst watching the television.  It’s by Jamie Oliver and although simple, it […]

    Pingback by Does Lindsey Bareham Cook By Herself? « The Anonymous Widower | November 6, 2013

  16. […] I like fish pies and there are several entries for fish pie. If I have time, I will cook my version of Jamie Oliver’s Fish Pie. […]

    Pingback by A Quick Fish Pie Supper « The Anonymous Widower | March 15, 2018


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.