The Anonymous Widower

Do We Need WikiPlates?

I think I know London and its various sites very well.  And as I have read the excellent book; The Great Stink of London: Sir Joseph Bazalgette and the Cleansing of the Victorian Metropolis, I think I know the fascinating story of the London sewers better than most.

But I was caught out on Wednesday, when I went to the Olympic Park, in that I hadn’t realised that the Greenway sat on top of Bazalgette’s Northern Outfall Sewer.

But there was nothing to tell me, that I was walking on the creation of a giant!

Obviously, a proper information board would be best, but these get damaged and if you made them from metal, then scrap thieves will take them.

But surely in this age of the Internet, all that is needed is a simple plate, which points you to the relevant place on the web.

If they linked to Wikipedia, through say a reference number, they could be called WikiPlates.

The possibilities for a simple system are endless, especially if you bring in smart phones and SMS messages.

April 1, 2011 - Posted by | Computing, Travel, World | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

