The Anonymous Widower

Be Nice To Nanny and You’ll Get Your Warfarin!

As I’ve said before Warfarin testing in this country and I suspect most of the world is complicated and it may be prone to error.  Two respected doctors have told me that.

Today, I took a prescription to Boots to get some more Warfarin tablets.  They wanted to see my yellow book, which I hadn’t got with me.  So I got the third degree! I wasn’t rude, but as a scientist who understands the way Warfarin works well, I resent being treated like an idiot. It’s not the pharmacist’s fault, but the person, who made up the new rules.

Now, my INR has been spot on for months and the dosage has only changed marginally since December last year.  That change was when I changed surgeries and the new one now does the tests themselves on a small monitor, whereas the previous surgery did it by blood tests that were  analysed by the hospital.  The change is that previously, I was on 5 mg. a day and 4 mg. at weekends, and now it’s 5 mg. a day and 4 mg. on Saturdays and Mondays. Or as the computer printout says, one 3 mg. and one 1 mg. on Saturdays and Mondays.  I don’t like the inference that I can’t  work out how I can give myself a 4 mg. dose, with 3 mg. and 1 mg. tablets.

Thev pharmacist indicated that next time if I didn’t bring the book, I wouldn’t get the Warfarin.

I actually think the next time I go, I  might not take it, as I prefer to keep it safe at home.  After all suppose I dropped it, I would then have to go back to the doctor for another book. But I would take a photocopy of my last INR test result. To me that is much more important as it carries the date of my next test.

One thing that is worth noting is that testing method one using blood tests and analysis at the local hospital, said I should be on 4.8 mg. per day. On the other hand testing method two using an electronic monitor in the surgery, said the dose should 4.8 mg per day.

In other words, both methods carried out in a correct professional manner gave exactly the same result.

May 9, 2011 - Posted by | Health | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. My dad was on warfarin for some years, he had to stop when he started having falls. However, he was told to carry his yellow book with him at all times in case he had an accident or was taken ill whilst away from the house on his own, so that the paramedics and hospital would know his history and the fact he was taking it. The clinic he went to for the tests had a full record and could have simply provided a new book if he lost it.

    Comment by liz | May 9, 2011 | Reply

    • I just didn’t like the attitude.

      Comment by AnonW | May 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 862 other followers

