The Anonymous Widower

One of the Earliest Places I Can Remember Turns Up in The Times

The Times today has a piece about how some hospitals should be merged or closed because they are failing.

The headline of “17 years ago closure was needed urgently. Today, Chase Farm stays open” summarises the text well. When I used to live in Cockfosters as a child, no-one had a good word for the hospital, so I suspect it hasn’t improved much after the years. The last time I was there was to see C’s godmother, who was recovering from a stroke in the hospital and I can’t remember anything positive or negative about the visit.

But I can remember my first visit to Chase Farm Hospital in 1950.  It was to collect my mother and my baby sister, who had just been born there.  We parked in front of the very same building shown in The Times.

The main thrust of the article in The Times is that Peter Carter, the head of the Royal College of Nursing has said that some failing hospitals should be shut.

I would agree.

When my son was first admitted to hospital in Manchester with an illness that later turned out to be pancreatic cancer, the place was a disgrace and they failed miserably in their diagnosis. Only when we moved him to Addenbrooke’s did we learn the awful truth.

So let’s shut failing hospitals and concentrate resources on services that work.  We should also move a lot of those services into the community as Dr. Carter says.

June 17, 2011 - Posted by | Health, News | ,

1 Comment »

  1. As you know, I am not impressed with that hospital either, particularly what I have seen and heard about the GI medics. An immediate diagnosis might have given your son much much longer even if it hadnt cured him.

    There is another hospital, not in Manchester, which I have serious issue with, IMHO they are directly responsible for the death of my late cousin; myself and other family members had told what was wrong with her, it was blindingly obvious to most people. I have also had concerns about the treatment of some other family members there. They wont be closing it though, they have just rebuilt it. But if anyone of mine is in there, I read the notes at the bottom of the bed – they had once put an 88 year old lady who was not in pain on a pain killer which is contraindicated in the elderly! Needless to say, I went bananas!

    Comment by liz | June 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 755 other followers

