The Anonymous Widower

92 Clubs – Day 1 – Accrington, Aldershot, Arsenal and Aston Villa

Well! Day 1 is now complete.

I stayed overnight in a guest house called Maple Lodge at Clayton-le-Moors just up the hill from Accrington Stanley‘s ground.

Maple Lodge Guest House at Five in the Morning

It was clean with a very comfortable bed and it was an only a twenty minute walk down the hill at five in the morning for an early start. It would be a nice affordable base for a weekend at the football, with a but of exploring in the area and on the moors thrown in.

I arrived at the ground early, as I needed to catch the 6:17 train out of the town to Leeds to get a train south.

Accrington Stanley's Ground

The ground is signposted off the Whalley Road and is very much tucked away in the houses. It was quiet, but then what do you expect in the dark early on a Saturday morning.  I was welcomed by a friendly ginger cat though.

It took me about twenty minutes to walk down the hill to the station, which is a model for many small towns.  Unfortunately, the large Tesco’s next door wasn’t fully open and all I could get to eat was a couple of EatNakd bars.  The cashier was also not in the best of humour after working a probably not too busy night-shift on his own.  I do wonder about the economics of opening supermarkets all night. Even the self-service tills were broken.

It was from Leeds that I got the 8:05  after the 6:17 from Accrington had got me in on time. It was then a quick route by Victoria and Bakerloo line to catch the 10:53 to Aldershot, where it was a short walk to the ground.

Aldershot Town

Although, I did take a roundabout route getting to the ground, which is actually visible from the station.

It was then back on the train and then on to the Emirates for Arsenal.

At The Emirates Stadium

This picture was taken by a Spanish tourist. If you think I looked hot and bedraggled, you’re right as it was the hottest October 1st since 1800 and God-knows-what.

The Emirates incidentally, was the only place where there was someone to take my picture.  The cat at Accrington didn’t want to know.

But at least I was running early and had time for a trip home to have lunch and a shower before going on to Aston Villa.

I left Euston at 17:03 and at just after 19:00 I was outside the ground.

Villa Park - Note the Moon on the Right

I could even see the moon over the stadium. How Romantic!

It was then back to Birmingham New Street and I caught the 21:10 back to London.

I was in bed by 23:30.

I shall update this post as time goes on, as I’ve just written it hurredly as I rush off to Barnsley.

But the amazing thing in some peoples minds was that I caught eight trains yesterday and none were late, although one might have been early. There was no delays on the four Underground trains I caught either.

My only problem was that finding gluten-free food was difficult, as neither Leeds or Birmingham Marks and Spencers in the station carry gluten free sandwiches.  But of course, I cooked myself a hearty lunch.

So Day 1 has the same answer to the question of what do you call 1,000 American lawyers at the bottom of the sea? – A good start!

October 2, 2011 - Posted by | Food, Sport, Travel | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Pleased you got off to a good start, but why American lawyers, haven’t we got enough shysters of our own?

    Comment by peter hoskins | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. A great start . . . who is the young good locking guy in the pictures ? . . . will enjoy this modern urban adventure trek . . . the pictures are interesting

    Comment by Steam Lover | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. [...] that didn’t stop me doing what I wanted. One, incidentally, a train from Leeds to London on Day 1 was actually a few minutes early.  I won’t complain about [...]

    Pingback by 92 Clubs – Week 1 – 18 Clubs – 33 Trains, 1 Coach « The Anonymous Widower | October 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers

