The Anonymous Widower

92 Clubs – Day 14 – Gillingham, Hartlepool

It was quite an early start to get a bus to London Bridge for a train to Gillingham.  I t was almost still dark, when I arrived and I followed the signs at the station to the Priestfield Stadium. It is only a short walk.

Gillingham's Priestfield Stadium

As you can see it is rather tucked away in the houses and the away supporters have to brave the weather.

I then took one of the Class 395 or Javelin trains back to St. Pancras.

A Javelin Arrives at Gillingham

I then had a couple of hours before I took the 11:23 Grand Central service direct to Hartlepool. I used the time productively to have breakfast in Carluccio’s, buy myself some sandwiches for the journey and investigate a walking route between Euston and Kings Cross/St. Pancras.

I arrived at Hartlepool on time in a station, that was totally unexpected.

Artwork at Hartlepool Station

I know the area well from my time at ICI and visits later and have actually travelled to London from the previous station on the line, Eaglescliffe, in the 1970s. Everybody, should note how with a little artistic creativity, some common sense and not vast amounts of money a dingy station like Hartlpool, can be made totally acceptable to anyone who wants or needs to travel by train. I think too much, we concentrate on the trains, when for many journeys we spent quite a bit of time in or around the stations.

It was just another well-posted short walk to the ground.

Inside Hartlepool United's Ground

I then explored the town, of which I will post more later, before I ended up in this micropub on the station.

Rat Race Ale House, Harlepool Station

The Rat Race Ale House was well worth a visit and say if you are a supporter, who travels to the ground by rail, it is a place to at lest try for a pre-match drink.  But don’t go if you drink chemical lager!

Every station should have one!

It had been a day of contrasts, a southern town and ground, that needed to be lifted up and a northern one, that had suffered a lot of unemploymemt in the 1970s and 1980s, that had pulled itself off the floor in style.

Just as I said with Exeter, I hope Ipswich draw Hartlepool, one day in a cup. The town is well worth a visit. I know it’s a long way from the south and if you don’t book early it could be expensive on the train, but give it a try!

October 15, 2011 - Posted by | Food, Sport, Travel | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. [...] I had time to spare at Kings Cross, before I caught my train to Hartlepool, I decided to investigate and found a map which showed there was a fairly simple direct walking [...]

    Pingback by Getting Between Kings Cross/St. Pancras and Euston « The Anonymous Widower | October 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. [...] Day 8 Day 9 Day 10 Day 11 Day 12 Day 13 Day 14 [...]

    Pingback by 92 Clubs – Week 2 – 18 Clubs – 36 Trains, 2 Trams « The Anonymous Widower | November 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 864 other followers

