The Anonymous Widower

Nationwide Login Problems

I like to login to my account at Nationwide each morning to see if there are any payments or credits, and that what are there are what I expect.

However, since Sunday, I have been unable to login. Each day, I got a message saying that the system would by back by 06:00.

Due to essential maintenance work some services will be unavailable on Tuesday 20/03/2012 between approximately 00:01 and 06:00 – we apologise for any inconvenience this will cause.

It’s now well past that time.

This is just not good enough.

Update on 21st March 2012

I have since found out what the problem was.  I use Google Chrome as my default browser and have done for a couple of months, when I had problems in internet Explorer, whilst using WordPress.  This behaviour only showed up in this browser and when I used Internet Explorer everything was fine.

This morning Google Chrome is working fine.

I may have found the solution, but how many customers of Nationwide use Google Chrome and don’t have the computer knowledge I do.  In fact because of the WordPress problem, I’m a bit suspicious that all browsers don’t sing to the same hymn-sheet.  It does mean that web designers must do a lot more testing, so they don’t get bad publicity because of unforseen changes to the design of browsers.

From both the web designers and the customers points of view it’s a nightmare.

The only way to spot this sort of problem early is to test sites continuously and analyse the web logs every day.  The Nationwide problem might have been picked up from the latter, by indicating that there were a lot of login failures with Google Chrome.

March 20, 2012 - Posted by | Computing, Finance | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ive tried several times to log in today and when i reach the login page it just freezes over can anyone tell me why

    Comment by Jo | June 24, 2012 | Reply

    • I haven’t had a problem today. Perhaps it’s a knock on from the RBS problems.

      Comment by AnonW | June 24, 2012 | Reply

  2. had same problem today on chrome, tried internet explorer instead and logged in no problem, glad I found this site thanks

    Comment by nikijg | August 23, 2012 | Reply

    • Looks like to me, that their testing isn’t 100%. Although, I logged in this morning in Chrome.

      Comment by AnonW | August 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 865 other followers

