The Anonymous Widower

Is It The Stroke Or The Old Injury?

At school, a bully broke my humerus.  He was twisting the arm upside down and hitting the tricep muscle repeatedly. I tried to turn round to hit him back after about twenty minutes or so of this torture and I overbalanced and all the extra pressure on my arm broke it.  It sounded like the noise you get, when you snap a raw carrot. I have only ever had it X-rayed once and that was at the old Highlands Hospital in Winchmore Hil, just after the break. I had seen pictures of green-stick fractures and it looked like that, with bits of bone everywhere.

Over the years it has sometimes been very painful. Once about ten years ago, I went to see a doctor and he got a CTScan done on the shoulder, as he thought, that was where the problem was. Since my stroke it sometimes has decided to annoy me. It did quite a bit in Hong Kong, but it couldn’t have been too bad when I was out of hospital, as I was able to drive cars around the yard at the stud. When I first moved to London it couldn’t have been too bad, as I was able to do some interesting metalwork. But it has been very bad over the last couple of weeks and that includes hospital. But you cope and I’ve now found a computer, that will allow me to type easier right handed.

I should say that the hand is generally pretty good and I can use it to help me get up and down stairs on a bus. Last night for instance, whilst standing on the New Bus for London, I was using my left hand.

On the other hand, there have been lengthy periods in my life, when I used to wear my heavy watch on the right hand and I have always slept on my right side or face down, with no weight on my left arm. I even did that as a child before the arm was broken, due to the layout of my first bedroom.

So is the pain in my left are due to this old injury or down to the stroke?

March 29, 2012 - Posted by | Health |

2 Comments »

  1. [...] is my left arm and hand that is bad, as I said here. But the computer would probably work equally well with someone, who had right hand problems. Like [...]

    Pingback by Typing With One Hand « The Anonymous Widower | March 31, 2012 | Reply

  2. [...] sorts the last couple of weeks.  But it’s always been like that in the cold, ever since the school bully broke it. After Southgate I took the train up to Oakwood station and could see the park, through which I [...]

    Pingback by Am I Mean To Myself In Small Ways? « The Anonymous Widower | January 29, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 864 other followers

