The Anonymous Widower

Amnesty International Strikes Itself Off My Charity List!

You can;t walk down Upper Street in Islington, without getting accosted by one of the numerous Big Issue salesmen or chuggers.

Today, I got stopped by someone trying to sell me Amnesty International.

These charities would be better off publicising their donate by SMS message numbers.

It is a charity that I follow and have donated to in the past.

But I won’t be supporting them in the future, as I don’t support charities who chug.

I should say that another charity that approached me in the traditional way with a bucket held my a lady earlier, got my loose change.  As I always do though, I refused the sticker.

May 3, 2011 - Posted by | World | ,

2 Comments »

  1. I’m having a dilemna today about whether to withdraw support for Amnesty after seeing them ‘chugging’ on the streets of Manchester. I feel like I’ve run out of well-known charities to support now if I don’t change my stand-point.

    Comment by ethicalgirl | October 3, 2011 | Reply

    • I still report them with petitions etc., but not with money.

      There are plenty of charities that need support, who I’ve never seen chug. I won’t name them, in case I’ve missed them, as they didn’t chug me!

      Comment by AnonW | October 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 755 other followers

