The Anonymous Widower

Should Buses Be Named?

The number 30 bus, I got on today was dedicated to Dave Gardner. This picture shows the plaque inside. His name is also on the back.

Plaque on a Bus Dedicated to Dave Gardner

He was obviously a great guy to have around and the named bus is a great tribute.

I think we should do it more often. It has to be remembered that many acts of heroism on the railways have been commemorated by the naming of locomotives.  They are described here.

March 21, 2011 - Posted by | Transport/Travel | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the picture. I saw this bus today (it featured Dave’s name on its rear side) and was wondering who Dave Gardner was .

    Comment by Yuriy | June 29, 2011 | Reply

    • I only saw the name on the back of the bus as I got off and by the time I’d got my camera out again, the bus had gone through the lights.

      Comment by AnonW | June 29, 2011 | Reply

  2. […] I am always in favour of naming buses. […]

    Pingback by Naming Buses After Olympic Medal Winners « The Anonymous Widower | August 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] without any trace of politicians or jobsworths. Although local heroes would be allowed, like the one named after GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

    Pingback by Should New Routemasters Be Named? « The Anonymous Widower | December 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.