The Anonymous Widower

Darrell’s Day

If you read my last post, you’ll read a little of the story of Nathaniel Darrell, who saved Britain from the Dutch. I just thought I’d search for Darrell’s Day in Google. I then opened a site, which because it had an embedded QuickTime video in it, locked up my computer.  I’m running IE8 in Vista and there are many forums that say that QuickTime and Vista are like oil and water.  So I then tried to uninstall QuickTime and  the uninstall software seemed to get in a pickle.

If I’d written software with those number of problems, I’d have been very ashamed of what I had done!

It’s only when you have had a stroke or have suffered serious injury or disability, that you realise how truly crap some programs are.  Perhaps, such people should do most of the program testing. Preferably with the programmers in the same room, so that they could vent their feelings properly.  Sometimes, I think various other instruments should be available for use in the testing process, but then I’m against violence and capital punishment.

Just think of the times recently, where software has been released without adequate testing and it has caused true distress and even possibly  loss of life.

June 29, 2010 - Posted by | Computing, News, World |

4 Comments »

  1. I am now a few years down the disability line, and I know exactly what you mean. I think it should be mandatory that all disabled services should be tested by people with disability. It is amazing how many supposedly disabled toilets are not accessible to a motorised scooter. Not a problem for me, I can walk, and so look up the scooter, unload the shopping and walk in. A nuisance,but not impossible for me, but it is for some people. There are also shops whose lifts wont take scooters, and shops who put displays and racks a few feet away from the lift doors so you cant get o ut of the lift – M&S is appalling for this, indeed for accessability generally.

    This is quite aside from the fact that since you are below the eye level of most people you are invisible. And I dont let things go on this matter, I challenge. And embarrass my daughter. In Selfridges there are always ladies trying to squirt you with perfume as you pass them. Unless you are in a scooter, in which case they ignore you. And when they do, they get asked for the reasoning behind their decision not to offer this to a lady of above average size using a mobility scooter.

    I still have some anger about my accident and its consequences, and sometimes it shows!

    Comment by Liz P | June 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. I always like the story of I think Boeing, who felt thst testing aircraft evacuation times in respect of an accident using fit students was probably not representative of a typical passenger load. So they contacted groups like Veterans and Pensioners and used them instead. I seem to remember they threw in a wheelchair bound passenger as well for luck. But they learned so much more!

    Comment by AnonW | June 29, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] it’s Darrell’s day […]

    Pingback by Fourth of July Tomorrow « The Anonymous Widower | July 3, 2011 | Reply

  4. […] was July the Fourth or Darrell’s Day in Suffolk, when the Dutch tried to invade in […]

    Pingback by Was The Torch A Day Late? « The Anonymous Widower | July 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.